SWAN: FCT Chapter Passes Vote Of No Confidence On Sirawoo


SWAN: FCT Chapter Passes Vote Of No Confidence On Sirawoo

Joel Ajayi

Sports Writers Association Of Nigeria, FCT State Chapter On Wednesday Unanimously Passed A Vote Of No Confidence On Honour Sirawoo, Its National President.

The Decision Was Taken Via A Communique  Issued At The Chapter’s Emergency Congress Held Inside Main Bowl Abuja National Stadium.

Congress had in attendance 55 members, including veterans from various media organisations

And after extensive deliberations over the state of the union at both the local and national levels, the members resolved as follows;

“That Mr Honour Sirawo, the President of SWAN have failed in his duties to lead SWAN with efficiency to defend the statute under which he was elected doesn’t have our confidence, thus we unanimously decide to pass a vote of no confidence on him and the NEC.

“That We call on the FCT NUJ and the National Secretariat to forthwith withdraw the registration of SWAN with the Corporate Affairs Commission, CAC, which contravenes the NUJ constitution.

“That the congress is equally surprised at stories flying round of plans to remove the body from NUJ, which has not been officially denounced by the National body. We are affiliates of the NUJ and remain so. Incorporation of an NGO without due consultation with members nationwide is not acceptable. We are a beat association established under the law that established NUJ and shall remain so.

“Observations were duly cited about the proliferation of non-practising Sports Writers in SWAN NEC, which violates the statutes of the Association.

“The congress decries the organised and or “forced” resignation of elected members of SWAN NEC and attempts to replace them with non-elected members.”

The following members were the comminique drafting committee. Olajide Fashikun – Chairman, Clinton Agbor – Member, Tolulope Oguntimehin –Member, Emmanuel Afonne – Secretary‎.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here