Connect with us


Bayelsa State Taekwondo Wins Overall Best Team National President Cup Open Championship



The 2023 National President Cup Open Championship organized by the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation came to conclusion on Sunday night as Bayelsa State Taekwondo team emerges as the Overall Best Team after claiming top position with 2 Gold, 3 Silver and 4 Bronze on the medal table.

The keenly contested 3 days competition which had athletes competing in Kyroigi, Poomsae and Para, saw team Bayelsa, Team Edo and Team Oyo State Taekwondo finishing in the top 3 position.

Speaking after lifting the trophy presented to the Bayelsa State Taekwondo team, Head Coach of the team Coach Judith D. Willaims described the success as a plus for her carrier. 

“Word can`t express how I feel but I must first thank God for the success we recorded here even as much that this is my first outing as the head coach of team Bayelsa state Taekwondo team, looking back to were we are coming from due to the fact that we have lost hope of coming to participate at this National President Cup Open Championship  but I must specially thank our director of sports in our state for the supports given to us and to also the working and committed president of the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation for creating this kind of championship for athletes to show their skill”.

Coach Judith Williams then gave a pass mark on the organization to the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation toward the organization of National President Cup Open Championship.

“I want to sincerely commend the federation for the good work put in place for this championship, for me to rate the tournament, I will give them an A using the academic team because there were no issues recorded between the coaches and the referees even among the athletes. This championship is a success”.

Chidinma Favour from Team Edo State won the overall best female player while Feysal Hamidou from Niger Republic won the Overall Best player for the National President Cup Open Championship.

Continue Reading


IMC Seals Super Six TV Rights Deal With Super Sports



The Interim Management Committee (IMC), which is charged with the responsibility of organizing the 2022/23 the Abridged Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL) has struck a deal to put all matches in the upcoming Super Six in Lagos on television.

The deal with Supersport a stable of Multichoice, an South Africa-based cable satellite television giants, is the latest heartwarming news coming from the IMC, which has in less than 12 months done a lot to revive the fortunes of the once moribund league.

Speaking with immediately after the deal was sealed, IMC Chairman, Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye could not hide his joy at the landmark achievement.

We have just concluded with Superport to cover the Super 6, it is a cheering news. The players will get an International recognition again, all the matches will be televised live and that will held a great deal in showcasing our league not just in Sub-Saharan Africa, but the globe at large”, the IMC boss said.

He added that televising the matches will also ensure better and fair officiating, as the referees would be put on their toes and challenged to give their very best in terms of officiating, better than what they did in the regular season.  

“It was not easy to reach an agreement, but we did all we could. We went forth and back and we finally came to an agreement”.

It is the hope of the IMC that after all these efforts, the best team wins the league, and the country will have worthy representatives in the two CAF organized Inter-Club Championships, next season.

Bendel Insurance of Benin, Remo Stars of Ikenne, Enyimba of Aba from Group A; and the Pool B trio of Rivers United (the holders), Lobi Stars of Makurdi, and Sunshine Stars of Akure are the six teams to feature at the Super Six; from July 3rd, 2023 at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, in Onikan Lagos

Continue Reading



Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)