Connect with us


RMAFC Chairman Applauds outgoing Federal Commissioners, As Members call for financial autonomy



Joel Ajayi 

The Honourable Chairman of Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission,  RMAFC, Honourable Muhammed Bello Shehu, OFR, has commended the outgoing Honourable members for their patriotism and commitment to nation-building through their effort to ensure that the commission is brought to a world class standard.

 In a statement issued by on Wednesday in Abuja the Commision’s Head, Information, and Public RelationsMaryam Umar Yusuf, shortly after the valedictory plenary organised in honour of the twenty outgoing members of the commission whose tenure expires today Wednesday 26th June, 2024 .

According to the statement,  “It has been our wish to reposition this Commission to become a worldclass Revenue Mobilisation Commission since we came here, we are still working in progress,  we have tried, we are trying and we will continue to try”

The Chairman recalled the extraordinary support that they rendered to the Commission through their contribution to the various Committees they served in, despite the fact that RMAFC as an organisation is poorly funded.  He prayed to God to reward them for their sacrifices and wished that they would be reappointed so that they could continue to support  the Commission. 

Honourable  members who spoke during the occasion eulogised the Chairman, M.B. Shehu for the achievements recorded under his stewardship.

 According to them, these include the  recommendation on  the review of the salaries of Ambassadors and some political office holders, work on the review of the Federal Allocation Formula, staff training, and improvement of the general condition of the office.

The members however lamented the poor funding of RMAFC and called on all the stakeholders to support the  bill to grant the organisation financial autonomy, which is presently before the Senate so that the commission could comfortably carry out its duties. Speaking on this challenge, the member representing Benue State, Honourable Samuel Adaa Magbe said.

“The Commission is not well funded.  There is a lot of low morale among the staff of the Commission, because when you go out to monitor the activities of FIRS, the Central Bank, and so on, you see that there is a wide disparity between us and them. But I hope that the President will do something about that for this Commission to move forward.”

Another outgoing memberer, Hon. Adebayo Fari, representing Ogun State, called for adequate funding and human capital development.

He said, *”One of the major things that has been a challenge here is the  funding of the organisation. Aside from that, we have the issue of human capital.   There have been moves by this administration under the leadership of M.B. Shehu to actually do a lot of training, but aside from that, I think there is still a need to recruit more hands in  the areas of accounting, statistics, economics and tax administration, so that they can actually build a very big capacity to do their functions very well”.

Honourable Modu Ali Juluri  member representing Yobe State remarked, ” RMAFC should be treated as a Federation agency, rather than  a Federal Government agency because the work that is done in RMAFC actually engages all the interests of the federation.”

He posited that RMAFC is a national Commission that  all   tiers of government, federal, states, and  Local Governments should really be interested in and therefore added his voice to the call to adequately fund  and digitalise it.

” I think the government should, first of all, digitalise RMAFC and  ensure that it is well funded to carry out its activities.” He said.

The Secretary to the Commission Nwaze Joseph  Okechukwu, who gave the vote of thanks, praised the Honourable Chairman for the achievements so far recorded under his watch and described the tenure of the outgoing Commissioners as worthwhile.

He noted that they were able to execute the national assignment that they were appointed to do and wished them success in their future endeavours. 

The  twenty outgoing members are :  Dr. Chris Alonzie Akomas,  Abia State, Anyang Sunday Okon,  Akwa Ibom State, Chima Philip Okafor,  Anambra State, Maagbe Samuel Adaa,  Benue State, Ntufam Eyo-NSA Whiley Cross River State,Mr. Andrew Ogheneovo Agbaga, Delta state,Barr. Patrick Nworu Mgbebu,  Ebonyi state,Mr. Victor Eboigbe,   Edo state, Amujo Phillip Ajayi, Ekiti state and Mohammed Kabeer Usman,  Gombe  State.

Others are : Kabir Muhammad Mashi. Katsina State, Barr. Umaru Faruk Abdullahi,  Kano State, Prof. Olusegun Adekunle Wright, Lagos State,Aliyu Almakura Abdulkadir.  Nasarawa state Ibrahim Bako Bagudu Shettima. Niger State, Adebayo Adeniyi Fari, Ogun State, Mr. Olatokumbo Ajasin,  Ondo State, Alexander Shaiyen, Plateau State, Modu-Aji Juluri, Yobe State, and Abubakar Sadiq Abdulkarim Gusau representing  Zamfara state. 

The members were appointed on the 26th of June 2019 for a tenure of 5 years, which expires midnight of today, the 26th of June, 2024 

Continue Reading


FG Committed to translating Youth Expectations into Actionable Policies – Minister of Youth



Joel Ajayi

Minister of Youth Development, Dr. Jamila Bio Ibrahim, affirmed that the Federal Government is fully committed to translating the diverse and evolving expectations of the youth into an array of actionable policies that will address their specific needs and aspirations.

The Minister made this known during the Nigerian Youth Consultative Forum, “the Summit of the Future” , held at the United Nations House Auditorium, Abuja.

Dr. Ibrahim said this forum is dedicated to capturing the views and expectations of the youth while collectively addressing their challenges to create a future where every young Nigerian can flourish.

She emphasized that the primary objective of this forum is to diligently gather and comprehensively understand the diverse views and expectations of the youth by collectively addressing their pertinent challenges.

According to the Minister, “Nigeria’s challenges are complex, but not insurmountable. By harnessing the power of technology, fostering entrepreneurship, and championing education and skills development, we can create a vibrant ecosystem where young Nigerians can thrive. We must also prioritize inclusivity, ensuring that our initiatives benefit every segment of society, including marginalized and vulnerable groups,” she stated.

She encouraged young people to be bold in their ideas, fearless in their advocacy, and relentless in their pursuit of a better future, adding that the platform amplifies the voices of Nigerian youth, as well as brings solutions to their challenges.

The Minister further explained that the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) offer a blueprint for a better world. However, achieving these goals requires more than just governmental effort; it demands the active participation of every citizen, especially the youth.

Earlier, World Health Organization (WHO) Representative and United Nations Resident Coordinator Dr. Walter Kazadi Mulombo said that the summit provides an opportunity to regain focus and reaffirm a commitment to a multilateral approach that benefits all people and all regions.

He noted that the future summit will be based on the 2023 SDG Summit and enhance global cooperation, which will eventually accelerate progress on the 2030 agenda.

Continue Reading



Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)