Connect with us

FCT news

AMAC names crescent after Akwa Ibom governor



By Philomina Attah
The Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), on Thursday in Abuja, unveiled a crescent named after the Governor of Akwa Ibom, Eno Umo

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the crescent, located in the Idu industrial area of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), was named after Umo in recognition of his track record as governor.

The naming of the crescent is seen as a fitting tribute to the governor’s achievements and a testament to his contribution to the advancement of the area.

Speaking during the unveiling of the crescent, the Chairman of AMAC, Christopher Maikalangu, described the governor as a “son of the soil” whose achievements in road construction, agriculture, education, and other sectors have been remarkable.

The AMAC chairman, represented by the council’s Supervisory Councillor on Special Duties, Mr Emmanuel Inyang, praised the governor’s commitment to development and expressed gratitude for his contributions to the progress of the community.

“He has done very well within the shortest time of his tenure in office.

“In terms of road infrastructure, in terms of agriculture, in terms of education, in terms of other activities that he has been able to put in place.

“Arising from your numerous contributions to your fatherland, AMAC has deemed it fit to recognise your contribution and issue a ‘symbol of award of the street name’ in your honour in appreciation of your commitment to developing the country.

“We see this as an opportunity to encourage you to do more for the people of your state.

“We wish you more grace as you discharge your responsibility and give enviable service to your fatherland,” the chairman said.

Akariyere Tommy, the Transitional Chairman of Eket Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom, expressed gratitude to the council for recognising the governor’s contributions to the development of the area.

Tommy emphasised the importance of history and how naming the crescent after the governor would serve as testimony to his achievements.

He applauded the council members and staff for their dedication and support.

In his comments on behalf of the governor, Mr Jeremiah Efeh, the Director of Finance, Akwa Ibom Liaison Officer Abuja, thanked the council for finding the governor worthy of the honour. (NAN)

Continue Reading

FCT news

President Tinubu Approves Appointment of of FCTA Head of Service, Permanent Secretaries, others



Joel Ajayi

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu (GCFR) has approved the appointment of the Chairman and Commissioners of the FCT Civil Service Commission.

In a press statement issued on Tuesday in Abuja by the Director Press office of the minister Mr Anthony Ogunleye, reveal that the appointments take immediate effect.

The appointment include,  Engr. Emeka Ezeh – Chairman, Hon. Ahmed Mohammed – North West,  Chief Anthony Okeah – South-South, Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim – North East, Miskoom Alexander Naantuam  – North Central, Hon. Jide Jimoh – South West and Barrister Martin Azubike – South East.

Similarly, Mr. President also approved the following to fill existing vacancies in some critical agencies of the FCTA. They are: Abdulkadir Zulkarfi – Coordinator Satellite Town Development Department;Chief Felix Obuah – Coordinator Abuja Metropolitan Management Council; and
Oladiran Olufemi Akindele – Coordinator, Abuja Infrastructure Investment Council (AIIC).

Also, to strengthen the bureaucratic structure of the Federal Capital Territory Administration, Mr. President equally approved the appointment of the Head of the Civil Service and Permanent Secretaries in the FCT Civil Service.

As Mr. Atang Udo Samuel is appointed as the Head of the Civil Service and the following as Permanent Secretaries;  Dr Adam Babagana – North East, Wanki Adamu Ibrahim – North East, Asmau Mukhtar – North West, Dogo Aliyu Wadata Bodinga – North West, Olusa Olusegun – South West, Adetoyi Rabiu Kolawole – South West, Grace Adayilo – North Central, Olubunmi Olowookere – North Central, Ibe Prospect Chukwuemeka – South East and Okonkwo Florence Nonubari – South South.

Meanwhile, all the  appointees would be sworn in on Monday 18th March, 2024.

Continue Reading



Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)