Connect with us





The Honourable Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Mr Sunday Dare has inaugurated the Board of Trustees (BOT) of the Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC).

Dare who was supported at the ceremony held today at the Headquarters of the Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa (ANOCA) in Abuja,  by the President, Nigeria Olympic Committee, Engr Habu Gumel, congratulated the new Board Members and  Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) for working assidously towards the revitalisation of the BOT after the unfortunate demise of its pioneer members.

The Minister who was represented at the occasion by his Chief of Staff,  Alhaji Abba Yola called on them to take advantage of the National Sports Industry Policy (NSIP) recently approved by the Federal Executive Council, to drive the development of sports in the country. 

He commended the  Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) for its commitment and doggedness that led to the successes recorded at the 2022 Commonwealth Games despite the absence of its Board of Trustees.

Mr.  Dare  who pledged the Ministry’s unflinching support to the Board and NOC, expressed optimism that with the calibre of persons inaugurated today,  Nigeria is set to record more podium performances at International Competitions.

Speaking earlier, the President of the Nigeria Olympic Committee, (NOC), Engr. Habu Gumel explained that the delay in the inauguration of the BOT was as a result of necessary documentation and registration of its members at the Corporate Affairs Commission as well as the demise of five former BOT members. 

According to him, ”after their passage, we were constrained to fill the vacuum created as a matter of statutory requirement. In the face of this, we made a proposal to the Executive Board which led to the nomination and eventual appointment of the new Trustees we are inaugurating today”.

He urged the new appointees to support the objectives and aspirations of the Nigeria Olympic Committee by giving their best service to the nation in order to bring to reality, the dreams and aspirations of sports loving Nigerians in the field.

Members of the newly inaugurated Board of Trustees are: Amb Haruna Garba, Hon. Ayo H. Omidiran, Dr. Lanre Glover, Mr. Jackson Bidei, Hon. Lumumba Dah Adeh, Mr. Suleiyman Mu’azu, Mr. Obi Asika.

Continue Reading


FCT Residents shun FiFa World cup for OteforWealth championship



Resident of FCT weekend shuned the ongoing world cup Games in Qatar but trouped out en mass to cheer their different states participating at the ongoing OTE4Wealth National championship.

The Ote4Wealth Football Tournament holding at the Water FC Stadium, Apo Abuja is in in honour of Diamond Jubilee celebration of Nigeria’s foremost philanthropist and Business mogul, Femi Otedola Femi Otedola who clocked 60 on November 4. 

In matches day two, Bayelsa advanced to the next round of the maiden edition of #Ote4Wealth National Football Tournament on Saturday.

Edo were the victims as Bayelsa humbled them 2-0, with John Raphael registering a brace.

Goals from Zakari John and Biola Brian was the tonic Abia needed to defeat Taraba 2-0.
A superbly taken free kick by Ehiam Akami helped Akwa Ibom pip Ogun 1-0.

Meanwhile, FCT also beat Oyo 1-0. Sani Auwalu was on song for the winning team.
Ajoh Chika’s header settled the game between Ebonyi and Enugu. 

Ekiti and Niger failed to score at the end of regulation. The latter won 4-3 on penalties.

Match Day 2 Results.
Abia 2-0 Taraba 
Nasarawa 0-3 Osun
Cross River 0-0 Kebbi (AP 1-4)
Ondo 0-3 Rivers
Enugu 0-1 Ebonyi
Kogi 0-0 Anambra (AP 4-3)
Akwa Ibom 1-0 Ogun
Katsina 0-3 Bauchi
Zamfara 0-2 Kwara
Ekiti 0-0 Niger (AP 3-4)
Oyo 0-1 FCT
Delta 1-0 Yobe 
Edo 0-2 Bayelsa

Continue Reading



Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)