Gbajabiamila Floors Bago To Emerges Speaker of 9th House Of Representatives

Gbajabiamila Floors Bago To Emerges Speaker of 9th House Of Representatives

Joel Ajayi

The House of Representatives representing good people of Lagos state and ruling’s party All Progressive Party APC choice candidate Hon Femi Gbajabiamila on Tuesday emerged the speaker House of Representatives for the 9th National Assembly.

APC’s preferred candidate Femi Gbajabiamila,who represented Surulere Federal constituency, Lagos state floored his APC counterpart Hon. Mohammed Bagoemerged the Speaker of the 9th Assembly.

He polled 281 to defeat his only rival, Umaru Bago, who got 76 votes from a total of 358 votes.

Two members were absent with one invalid vote.

Bago went to Gbajabiamila to congratulate him even before Gbajabiamila’s votes were counted

The exercise that took less than two hours with two voting points saw some members voting on the floor while many made sure the trio of Gbajabiamila, Idris Wase and Abdulmumin Jibrin made a show of displaying their ballot papers after voting before casting it.

No member made attempt to display how he she voted to Bago, who sat in the third row.

Sorting of cards with total silence from the floor by Sergeant at Arms were witnessed by the Jibrin, Linda Ikpeazu, Mark Gbila and Yunusa Ahmad.

Even before the sorting was concluded, members began jubilating and congratulating Gbajabiamila

Sorting completed, Jibrin first did a bow down, reminiscent of Islamic prayer after which he went straight to Gbajabiamila for a congratulatory hug.

The Clerk to the National Assembly (CNA) Muhammed Sani-Omolori declared Gbajabiamila winner, having polled majority votes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)