Lawan, Gbajabiamila lead 9thNational Assembly



…as Omo Agege, Wase Emerges Deputy Senate President, Deputy Speaker

Joel Ajayi

As leadership battle of 9th the National Assembly has laid to rest as  the Ahmed Lawan of All Progressive Party APC and Hon Femi Gbajabiamila of APC has emerged the Senate President and Speaker House of representatively to steer the ship of the Red and Green Chamber in the next four years.

Lawan defeated his counterpart Ali Ndume representing Borno South having polled 79 votes against Ndume APC who polled 28 votes in the election conducted at the National Assembly Complex in Abuja.

The total number of 107 Senator-elected voted as Lawan emerged winner.

Before the election proper, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North) nominated Senator Ahmad Lawan to take the seat of Senate President.

The nomination of Lawan was seconded by Senator Solomon Adeola (Lagos West)

While Senator Ishaku Elisha (Adamawa North) nominated Senator Mohammed Ali Ndume for the position of Senate President.

Ndume’s nomination was seconded by Senator Ndidi Barinada (Rivers East)

However, Clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sanni-Omolori, at exactly 12 noon, announced that “today 11th of June 2019, gathered in the Senate chamber are 107 Senators-elect. 107 Senators-elect cast their votes.

“After voting and counting of votes, Senator-elect, Ahmad Lawan received 79 votes. Senator-elect Mohammed Ali Ndume received 28 votes. Total vote cast 107.

“On the strength of this, Senator-elect Ahmad Lawan, having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared winner and returned elected President of the Ninth Senate.

The Clerk promptly administered the oath of office and oath of President of the Senate on Lawan and swore him as the President of the Ninth Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Meanwhile the Senator-ElectedSenator-Elected Ovie Omo-Agege Representing Delta Central of the All Progressives Congress  emerged new Deputy Senate President.


He polled 68 votes to defeated to defeated the immediate past Deputy Senate President, of PDP Ike Ekweremadu, Omo who secured  37 votes.

A total of 105 votes were cast in the election. One vote was voided while a senator abstained from voting.

Omo-Agege on May 18th 2018 made news when the mace was stolen by suspected hoodlums from the house of assembly during plenary.

The senator was alleged to have led the thugs to steal the mace following his appearance at plenary despite being on suspension. He denied the allegation.

The senate had on April 13 suspended the Omo-Agege for 90 legislative days over his comment that the proposed re-ordering of the 2019 general election was targeted at President Muhammadu Buhari

Also, in the stiff competition over the speakership of the 9th House of Representatives finally climaxed in the election of Honorable Femi Gbajabiamila as the speaker of the house.

The APC preferred candidate Femi Gbajabiamila, representing Surulere Federal constituency, Lagos state, South West Region defeated Hon. Umaru Bago representing Niger state, North central region to emerged the winner.

Gbaja got 281 votes to defeat his only rival, Umaru Bago, who got 76 votes from a total of 358 votes.

Hon. Gbaja emergence as the Speaker came hours after the Red chamber elected Senator Ahmed Lawan at its President.

Two members were absent with one invalid vote.

Bago went to Gbajabiamila to congratulate him even before Gbajabiamila’s votes were counted

The exercise that took less than two hours with two voting points saw some members voting on the floor while many made sure the trio of Gbajabiamila, Idris Wase and Abdulmumin Jibrin made a show of displaying their ballot papers after voting before casting it.

No member made attempt to display how he she voted to Bago, who sat in the third row.

Sorting of cards with total silence from the floor by Sergeant at Arms were witnessed by the Jibrin, Linda Ikpeazu, Mark Gbila and Yunusa Ahmad.

Even before the sorting was concluded, members began jubilating and congratulating Gbajabiamila

Sorting completed, Jibrin first did a bow down, reminiscent of Islamic prayer after which he went straight to Gbajabiamila for a congratulatory hug.

The Clerk to the National Assembly (CNA) Muhammed Sani-Omolori declared Gbajabiamila winner, having polled majority votes

Also, Honourable Ahmed Wase has Emerged as the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Mr Wase was elected unopposed by about 358 lawmaker.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here